The Kanhangad Sub Division was formed as per GO(Rt)No.1701/84/Home Dated 28.06.1984. The Sub Division consists of 6 Police Stations, Hosdurg PS, Nileshwar PS, Chandera PS, Cheemeni PS, Chittarikal PS, Vellarikund PS and Control Room Kanhangad. The Police Stations lying at the coastal belt namely Hosdurg, Nileshwar and Chandera are highly politically and communally sensitive. The Police Stations sharing border with Karnataka are also identified as the possible targets of Maoists. The Sub Division consists 3 major towns Kanhangad, Nileshwar, and Cheruvathur. The emerging towns at the high range areas are Vellarikkund, Panathur,and Chittarikkal.

Last updated on Thursday 29th of September 2022 PM